I have transportation and it’s…. adorable!

Posted on September 14, 2010


BIG NEWS!  I have secured a field vehicle for my travels in the Chaco!

Mitsubishi Pajero Junior

My Burro

It’s a 1997 Mitsubishi Pajero Junior,  and it’s in excellent condition.  A much better vehicle than I was expecting to get.  The big joke around here was that I was better off looking for a burro (donkey) to transport me around the Chaco than trying to find a small, automatic, 4-wheel drive vehicle in good condition for the price I was paying.  I could at least eat the donkey when it died on me.  But my good friends at CEDIC came through for me, and they are kindly renting me this vehicle for the year.

The chiquitito Pajerito is getting mega maintenance before I take off for the Chaco to ward off any potential problems.  I will be leaving for the Chaco on SUNDAY!

I have a few more things to take care of in Asuncion before I head out, which include: (a) finding a map (this sounds much easier than it is), and (b) getting my visa extended before I leave town (the visa extension offices burned down last week… so I need to figure out where they’ve moved to).

Posted in: Fieldwork