Let’s try this again

Posted on October 4, 2010


My first trip out to the Chaco ended in record time.  I’m trying this again tomorrow.  Here’s the plan:

  1. Drive to Mariscal Estigarribia from Asunción (~500km).  Organize study logistics with my partners at the regional hospital.
  2. With my collaborators, drive out to the study communities (>500km).  Meet with community leaders.  Arrange accommodation in the communities.  Find a field assistant and start training.  Pilot census instruments.
  3. Leave the field vehicle in the study communities and take the omnibus back to Asunción, where I can file the rest of my paperwork (signatures from collaborators and community leaders) with the ethics committees in Paraguay and at ASU.

Once I get my letters of permission from the two ethics committees I’m working with, I can finally start the study!

I am unlikely to have consistent internet access for the next two weeks (while I’m working on the above), but I may tweet occasionally when I’m on the cell phone grid.

Posted in: Fieldwork