Traditional Nivacle Dances

Posted on January 10, 2011


While I was in the Nivacle communities I was invited to watch and take video footage of some traditional Nivacle dancing. The ladies in this video meet at least once a week to dance and sing, and they perform at festivals too. I took this footage in November and they were already talking about getting ready for the Christmas Day celebration.

The staffs that they are using in the dance are decorated with hooves from cattle and bells to make noise. The dancing groups are composed of mostly older women, but some middle-aged women also participate. There are also some groups in which men participate by singing (I haven’t seen one of these performances yet).

[I have two more videos to upload and will edit this post to include them when I do.]

Posted in: Uncategorized